I cannot live without my life

‘Live each day as if it’s your last’, that was the conventional advice, but really, who had the energy for that? What if it rained or you felt a bit glandy? It just wasn’t practical. Better by far to simply try and be good and courageous and bold and to make a difference. Not change the world exactly, but the bit around you. Go out there with your passion and your electric typewriter and work hard at…something. Change lives through art maybe. Cherish your friends, stay true to your principles, live passionately and fully and well. Experience new things. Love and be loved, if you ever get the chance.

One Day, David Nicholls

Just finished this book and thought I’d share a paragraph. I think it kind of makes me excited to be alive. And not just because of the ‘Change lives through art’ part. All of it speaks of optimism, having adventures, learning new things, falling down and picking yourself back up again. This way of living seems much more honest and real to what I’m used to. I’m tired of feeling guilty and for not doing enough or not doing anything at all.

I don’t know. These words just took my breath away.

I love books.

One Comment on “I cannot live without my life”

  1. Ben says:

    “I’m tired of feeling guilty and for not doing enough or not doing anything at all.” I feel that too mate. Although, if I’m honest, I’m not sure I’ll ever feel like I’m doing ‘enough’. That probably has more to do with my own flawed personality than anything else, but I suppose also if we pray for our hearts to break for what breaks God’s, we’ll always know there’s more places that hurt.

    Anyway. Thank you for sharing. I appreciate those words too. Also, books. If you ever think of a good book for me to read that will help turn off my mind, feel free to suggest!


Leave a Reply

